الهجرة غير الشرعية للأطفال غير المصحوبين

Illegal-migration-of-Egyptian

معلومات أساسية

الأطفال غير المصحوبين، حسبما ورد في المادة (1) من اتفاقية حقوق الطفل المؤرخة في 20 نوفمبر 1989، هم الأطفال الذين انفصلوا عن كلا الوالدين أو غيرهم من الأقارب ولا يتلقون الرعاية من أحد البالغين ممن يتحملون مسئولياتهم بحكم القانون أو العرف. والطفل هو كل شخص لم يتجاوز 18 عامًا.

وتشير البيانات إلى أن عدد الأطفال المصريين غير المصحوبين الذين يهاجرون إلى أوروبا وإيطاليا بشكل غير شرعي قد زاد بشكل مطرد منذ عام 2007. فوفقًا للمنظمة الدولية للهجرة، أفادت إيطاليا وصول 4000 مهاجر مصري غير شرعي إلى شواطئها في عام 2014، منهم نحو 2000 من الأطفال غير المصحوبين، كما ارتفعت نسبة هؤلاء الأطفال بمقدار صغير خلال الأشهر الستة الأولى من عام 2015 إذ وصلت نسبة المهاجرين من الأطفال غير المصحوبين إلى 62٪ من إجمالي المهاجرين غير الشرعيين.

وعلى عكس البالغين، لا يمكن ترحيل الأطفال المهاجرين غير المصحوبين من إيطاليا؛ وذلك طبقاً لقانون حماية الطفل وقانون الهجرة والقوانين السارية في التشريع الإيطالي، حيث يسمح للأطفال بالبقاء في إيطاليا ما لم يقرروا طواعية العودة إلى مصر. وإضافةً إلى ذلك، يسمح القانون الإيطالي للأطفال الأجانب بالبقاء بصورة شرعية داخل البلاد والحصول على الجنسية بعد بلوغهم سن 18 عامًا وذلك وفقاُ لعدة شروط؛ حيث يجب أن يقيم الطفل بشكل دائم في إيطاليا لمدة ثلاث سنوات واستكمال برنامج الاندماج الاجتماعي لمدة عامين خلال تلك الفترة وذلك بغرض تأهيله. مما يعني أنه من أجل الحصول على الجنسية الإيطالية يجب أن يصل الأطفال إلى إيطاليا وهم في سن الخامسة عشر على الأكثر. ويعتبر هذا القانون أحد العوامل الرئيسية التي تشجع الآباء على إرسال أبنائهم إلى إيطاليا برغم كل المخاطر التي يتعرضون لها في رحلة الهجرة غير الشرعية؛ كما يعتقد بعض الآباء مخطئين بأنهم سيحصلون على الجنسية أيضًا إذا حصل طفلهم عليها.

التوزيع الجغرافي و دول المقصد المفضلة

تعد محافظات المنشأ للأطفال الراغبين في الهجرة غير الشرعية هي نفس المحافظات التي يهاجر منها البالغون، بما في ذلك محافظات الشرقية والدقهلية والقليوبية والمنوفية والغربية والبحيرة وكفر الشيخ في منطقة الدلتا، بالإضافة إلى محافظات الفيوم وأسيوط والأقصر في صعيد مصر.
وتقع الهجرة غير الشرعية للأطفال المصريين إلى حد كبير في الفئة العمرية من 14-17 عاما، أي بين الطفولة والبلوغ. وكان جميع الأطفال الذين التقت بهم المنظمة الدولية للهجرة من المناطق الجنوبية الغربية والشمالية من مصر، وخاصة محافظة الغربية (31) تليها (10) محافظتا الشرقية والمنيا (8)، والمنوفية (5)، والبحيرة (5) وغيرها (الشكل 1). لذلك ترتبط الهجرة غير الشرعية للقصر المصريين بالشباب أو الأطفال الذين يأتون من المناطق الريفية حيث يكون الحراك الاجتماعي ضعيفًا.

الشكل 1: عدد الأطفال غير المصحوبين الذين تمت مقابلتهم لكل محافظة مصدِّرة  (n = 76)

graph1

Source: IOM, Egyptian Unaccompanied Migrant Children, 2016

تعتبر إيطاليا أيضًا هي دولة المقصد المفضلة بالنسبة للأطفال غير المصحوبين؛ فبالإضافة إلى عوامل الجذب مثل وجود شبكات وجاليات مصرية كبيرة في بعض بلدان إيطاليا، وتوافر فرص العمل في القطاع غير الرسمي، فإن إمكانية الحصول على الجنسية الإيطالية هي السبب الرئيسي وراء استهداف الأطفال وأولياء أمورهم لإيطاليا. هذا وتعتبر الوجهتان الأكثر شعبية هي صقلية وميلانو.

أسباب الهجرة غير الشرعية للأطفال

غالبًا ما يدفع الآباء أو بعض أفراد الأسرة الآخرين الأطفال إلى الهجرة بصورة غير شرعية إلى إيطاليا لتوفير الاحتياجات المادية لأسرهم. ومن خلال الأبحاث والتقارير الاستقصائية التي أجرتها بعض وسائل الإعلام عن هجرة الأطفال غير المصحوبين، اتضح أن السبب الرئيسي وراء قرار الهجرة هو المساهمة في توفير الموارد المالية اللازمة لأسرهم لتحسين ظروفهم المعيشية؛ فيرسل الأطفال المهاجرون معظم ما يجنونه من المال إلى أسرهم في مصر لتغطية النفقات مثل تكاليف زواج الإناث وتعليم الذكور.

ونظرا للخلفية الاقتصادية الفقيرة والمهمشة للأطفال من المحافظات المعنية، يضطر العديد من الأطفال إلى ترك المدرسة لدعم أسرهم. في هذا الصدد، يشارك أكثر من 9 في المائة من الأطفال المصريين في عمالة الأطفال، والعديد من الأطفال من المناطق الريفية ينظرون إلى أنفسهم على أنهم “المعيل” لأسرهم. من العينة التي تمت مقابلتهم في اليونان، 85 في المائة من جميع الاطفال غير المصحوبين أشاروا لفرص العمل كقوة دافعة للهجرة غير الشرعية إلى أوروبا.

جودة نظام التعليم في مصر هو عامل مؤثر في قرار الطفل للهجرة. ويعد الأطفال المهاجرون من المناطق الريفية سببًا في اكتظاظ الصفوف الدراسية حيث ان أساليب التدريس التي تركز على المعلم عفا عليها الزمن. وهكذا ينظر للهجرة إلى أوروبا لتزويد الأطفال المصريين بفرصة الحصول على تعليم ثانوي أفضل جودة، و32 في المائة من الأطفال غير المصحوبين الذين تمت مقابلتهم أشاروا إلى الحصول على خدمات التعليم باعتباره سببًا محددًا للهجرة (الشكل 2).

الشكل 2: العوامل التي تحفز الأطفال غير المصحوبين لمغادرة مصر

graph2

Source: IOM, Egyptian Unaccompanied Migrant Children, 2016

ويبدي العديد من الأطفال استعدادهم لمواجهة مخاطر الهجرة بسبب تشجيع الأهل والأقارب لهم وكذلك أقرانهم ومعارفهم من المهاجرين العائدين، فجميعهم يصورون الحياة في إيطاليا على أنها فرصة عظيمة لجمع الثروة؛ هذا ويلعب المهربون دورًا رئيسيًا في كثير من الأحيان في إقناع الآباء بهجرة أبنائهم. وفي حين أشار الغالبية العظمى من الأطفال الذين جرت مقابلتهم إلى الضغوط المنزلية باعتبارها السبب الرئيسي وراء الهجرة و(91٪) كان قرار الهجرة لهم من قبل أنفسهم. وذكر 32 في المائة فقط إن قرارهم يرجع إلى أسرهم، و9 في المائة من قبل الأصدقاء. ويعتمد الاختيار الفردي بدرجة كبيرة على النظر إلى الزملاء الذين هاجروا بنجاح إلى أوروبا، كما يتضح من 65 في المائة من الأطفال غير المصحوبين الذين أشاروا إلى ضغط الأقران كأحد عوامل الهجرة. ومن خلال شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي، يمكن للأطفال مراقبة وسائل تحسين مستوى المعيشة لدى أقرانهم. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتضح نجاح الهجرة في قرى مصر، حيث تتمتع أسر الأطفال الذين يعيشون الآن في أوروبا بالتحويلات. وبذلك استطاعت هذه العائلات تجديد منازلهم والحصول على مستوى معيشة أفضل. وبالتالي، فإن التناقض بين عدم وجود سبل لتحقيق الذات في مصر، والقدرة على تلبية التطلعات الشخصية في أوروبا بمثابة عامل صنع القرار، مما يدفع الأطفال إلى الهجرة بشكل غير شرعي.

الشكل 2: الأشخاص المؤثرون في قرار الأطفال غير المصحوبين بالهجرة بشكل غير منتظم

graph3

Source: IOM, Egyptian Unaccompanied Migrant Children, 2016

النظام الإيطالي لحماية الأطفال

وفقًا للإطار التشريعي الإيطالي، تتحمل الحكومة الإيطالية مسئولية أي طفل يتواجد لأي سبب من الأسباب داخل أراضي الدولة بدون مساعدة أو بدون وجود والديه أو أي من البالغين الآخرين المسؤولين عنه قانونًا.

ولا يجوز طرد الأطفال المهاجرين غير المصحوبين بل يحق لهم الحصول على ما يلي: 1) تصريح إقامة، 2) الإيواء في مكان آمن، 3) تعيين وصي عليهم، 4) عدم التمييز ضدهم، 5) الرعاية الصحية، 6) التعليم، 7) وتدابير حماية خاصة لهم.

  • يجب إحالة الأطفال غير المصحوبين بمجرد وصولهم للأراضي الإيطالية إلى الهيئات المعنية بتوفير خدمات حماية الأطفال ذات الصلة ووضعهم في مراكز الإيواء/ الاستقبال الأولية لمدة تتراوح من 60 إلى 900 يومًا بحد أقصى، ومن ثم يتعين على مسئولي الخدمات الاجتماعية اتخاذ الخطوات التالية:
    1. مقابلة الطفل والتعرف عليه وجمع بيانات عنه مثل الاسم والعمر وبلد المنشأ.
    2. إخطار محكمة الأحداث بوجود الطفل (للبدء في تحديد الوصي القانوني عليه).
    3. البدء في إجراءات إصدار تصريح الإقامة وذلك بعد التنسيق مع الشرطة والوصي القانوني على الطفل.
    4. البدء في إجراءات تحديد هوية الطفل.
  • وفي المرحلة الثانية، يجب إيواء الأطفال غير المصحوبين في إطار نظام حماية ملتمسي اللجوء واللاجئين حيث تقوم السلطات المعنية بإعداد مشروع مستدام وطويل الأجل لمساعدة الطفل على الوصول إلى مرحلة البلوغ والاندماج في المجتمع الإيطالي. هذا ويخصص نظام الحماية ميزانيات وموارد محددة لاستثمارها في تعليم المهاجرين من الأطفال غير المصحوبين وخلق فرص عمل لهم.
  • يتم توفير تصاريح الإقامة الدائمة للطفل متى بلغ سن 18 عامًا استنادا إلى أحد الشرطين الموضحين أدناه:
    1. تقديم الأدلة التي تثبت أن الطفل قد أتم مسار الدمج بنجاح، بما في ذلك الإقامة في إيطاليا لمدة ثلاث سنوات؛ ومشاركة الطفل في مشروع الدمج الاجتماعي ومدته سنتان.
    2. تلقي تقرير إيجابي صادر من وزارة العمل والسياسات الاجتماعية بشأن الأطفال الذين لم يكملوا مشروع الدمج الاجتماعي ولم يقيموا في إيطاليا لمدة 33 سنوات على الأقل.

مخاطر الهجرة غير الشرعية:

تعتبر مخاطر الهجرة غير الشرعية واحدة بالنسبة لكل من البالغين والأطفال، بما في ذلك صعوبة الرحلة؛ وعلى الرغم من ذلك، فإنه غالبًا ما يكون الأثر السلبي على الأطفال أكثر شدة نظرًا لأنهم أكثر عرضة للأذى والاستغلال.

المخاطر في إيطاليا:

يعتبر الأطفال غير المصحوبين هدفًا للاستغلال بمجرد وصولهم إلى إيطاليا وخاصةً إذا قاموا بالهرب من مراكز الإيواء لعدد من الأسباب المذكورة أدناه:

  • غالباً ما يجهل هؤلاء الصغار حقوقهم أو كيفية حصولهم على الحماية أو المساعدة بموجب القانون الإيطالي، فالمعلومات الوحيدة المتاحة لديهم هي تلك التي يقدمها لهم أقاربهم أو معارفهم من نفس البلدة التي يأتون منها من مصر. ولذلك يضطر الأطفال في معظم الأوقات أن يدفعوا مبالغ من المال لهؤلاء لاصطحابهم إلى الجهات المعنية بتوفير الخدمات الاجتماعية أو أقسام الشرطة أو المحكمة، وقد يحتاجون إلى القيام بذلك أيضًا للحصول على وصي مُعيّن من هؤلاء المعارف والذي يمكن أن يقوم باستغلالهم.
  • الأطفال المهاجرين غير المصحوبين هم أيضًا عرضة بشكل خاص لخطر الاستغلال حيث انهم مضطرون في معظم الأحيان إلى العمل في ظروف سيئة والتعرض للمعاملة غير الإنسانية من قبل أصحاب العمل وذلك حتى يستطيعوا سداد تكلفة رحلة الهجرة للمهربين أو توفير الأموال اللازمة لتسديد احتياجات أسرهم.
  • ويمكن أيضًا إقحام هؤلاء الصغار في الأنشطة الأخرى للإتجار بالبشر، بما في ذلك العمل في الدعارة أو الإتجار بالمخدرات أو الرق أو تجارة الأعضاء.

 

بحث عن الهجرة غير الشرعية للأطفال غير المصحوبين فى المجتمع المصرى

قامت اللجنة الوطنية لمكافحة ومنع الهجرة غير الشرعية والاتجار بالبشر بالتعاون مع المركز القومي للبحوث الاجتماعية والجنائية لإعداد دراسة متكاملة حول ظاهرة الهجرة غير الشرعية للأطفال غير المصحوبين فى المجتمع المصرى، خاصة فى ظل المستجدات الراهنة والتحديات التى تمر بها المنطقة؛ بما يسهم فى رسم صورة متكاملة تنطلق من الدمج بين النهج التنموى والنهج الحقوقى خاصة مع بروز الأطفال كضحايا لتلك الجريمة.

وفى هذا الإطار سعت الدراسة إلى تحقيق الأهداف التالية:

  1. التعرف على أبعاد ظاهرة الهجرة غير الشرعية للأطفال غير المصحوبين فى مصر.
  2. رصد الواقع الاقتصادى والاجتماعى والخدمى للقرى التى تنتشر فيها الهجرة غير الشرعية للأطفال غير المصحوبين للتعرف على عوامل الخطورة الكامنة فى البيئة الحاضنة لهذا السلوك.
  3. رصد أسباب الإقدام على الهجرة غير الشرعية للأطفال.
  4. استجلاء الحلول وآفاق المستقبل من خلال آراء الأطراف المختلفة ولتحقيق هذه الأهداف تم الاعتماد على تعريف إجرائى للهجرة غير الشرعية للأطفال غير المصحوبين.

 

يمكنك الإطلاع على هذه الدراسة من خلال هذا الرابط

Illegal Migration of Egyptian Unaccompanied Children

Illegal-migration-of-Egyptian

Background

Unaccompanied migrant children, as defined in Article 1 of the Convention on the Rights of the Child of 20 November 1989 (CRC), are children who have been separated from both parents and other relatives and are not being cared for by an adult who, by law or custom, is responsible for doing so. A child is a person below the age of 18 years.

Data shows that the number of Egyptian unaccompanied children who illegally make their way to Europe and Italy has grown steadily since 2007. According to the International Organization of Migration (IOM), in 2014 Italy reported 4000 illegal Egyptian migrants had arrived on its shores. Some 2000 comprised unaccompanied children. The percentage increased a small amount during the first six months of 2015, with the number of unaccompanied migrant children comprising 62% of the aggregate from Egypt.

Unlike adults, unaccompanied children cannot be repatriated from Italy according to the Child Protection Law, the Immigration Law as well as the Italian legislations and therefore, children are allowed to remain in Italy unless they voluntarily decide to return to Egypt. In addition, Italian law currently allows children to stay legally in the country and acquire citizenship after they are 18 years old. However, to qualify, each child must permanently reside in Italy for three years and complete a two-year social integration program during that period. This means, in order to stay, they must arrive by the age of 15. This law is one of the main factors encouraging parents to send their children to Italy, even at the risk of their lives. Some parents falsely believe that they too will receive citizenship if their child is able to do so under the program.

Geographical Distribution and Preferred Destinations

Unaccompanied migrant children come from the same governorates that adult migrants come from, including Sharkia, Dakahleya, Qalyoubia, Menofia, Gharbeya, Behera and Kafr El Sheikh in the Delta region and Fayoum, Assiut and Luxor in Upper Egypt. Irregular migration of Egyptian children is strongly situated in the age group of from 14 to 17 years between childhood and adulthood. All children interviewed by IOM originate from the south-western and northern parts of Egypt, in particular Gharbia (31) and followed by Sharkeya (10), Minya (8), Monufia (5), Beheira (5) and others (Figure 1). Irregular migration of Egyptian minors is therefore mainly related to shabab or young men who come from rural areas where social mobility is weak.

Figure 1: Number of interviewed UMCs per governorate of origin (n = 76)

graph1

Source: IOM, Egyptian Unaccompanied Migrant Children, 2016.

Italy is also the destination of choice for children. In addition to pull factors such as the existence of large Egyptian networks and communities across Italy and potential jobs in the informal sector, the possibility of acquiring Italian citizenship is the main reason why children, or more preciously their parents, target Italy. The most popular destinations are Sicily and Milan.

Main Drivers/Reasons behind Illegal Migration of children

Children are often pushed by their parents or other family members to illegally migrate to Italy to provide for their families’ needs. The majority of children interviewed as part of studies or investigative reports by media say their decision to migrate was primarily to enhance their living conditions and finance their families back home. Any money earned by the teens would be sent to Egypt to cover a variety of things, including dowries for female relatives and tuition for siblings.

Given the poor and marginalized economic background of children from the respective governorates of origin, many children are forced to drop out of school to support the subsistence of their families. In this regard, over 9 per cent of Egyptian children are involved in child labour, and many children from rural areas perceive themselves as “breadwinners” for their families. Among the sample interviewed in Greece, 85 per cent of all UMCs cited job opportunities as a driving force for irregular migration to Europe.

The quality of Egypt’s education system is another influencing factor in a child’s decision to migrate. Children migrating from rural areas regularly report overcrowded classrooms and outdated teacher-centred teaching methods as characteristic of Egypt’s education system. Limited access to education then inhibits employment prospects outside the agricultural sector and blue-collar work. Migration to Europe is thus perceived to provide Egyptian children with the opportunity to receive additional and higher-quality secondary education, and 32 per cent of interviewed UMCs stated lack of access to education services as a specific reason to migrate (Figure 2).

Figure 2: Factors that motivate UMCs to leave Egypt

graph2

Source: IOM, Egyptian Unaccompanied Migrant Children, 2016.

As described above, the ability to financially support one’s family is a crucial aspect for a child’s decision to migrate irregularly and oftentimes taken in consultation with their parents and relatives. Children are willing to face the risks of illegal migration due to encouragement from parents, relatives, members of Egyptian communities in Italy and peers, all of whom view life in Italy as an opportunity to amass wealth. Migrant smugglers looking to take advantage of families often play a major role in convincing parents. While children’s decision to migrate is commonly depicted in terms of household pressure, the vast majority of interviewed children (91%) stated they have taken the decision to migrate by themselves. Only 32 per cent stated that their decision was taken or influenced by their families, and 9 per cent by friends. The large degree of perceived individual choice is however informed by peers who have successfully migrated to Europe, as reflected by the 65 per cent of UMCs who reported peer pressure as a migratory driver. Through social media, children can observe how their peers’ standard of living has improved, serving as role models who have fully realized their dreams. In addition, migration successes are clearly visible in villages of rural Egypt, where families of children who are now living in Europe benefit from the remittances. These families are then able to refurbish their houses and afford a better standard of living. Consequently, the contrast between a lack of perspectives for self-realization in Egypt and the ability to meet personal aspirations in Europe serves as a decision-making factor, and induces children to emigrate irregularly.

Figure 3: Decision-making influencers for UMCs to migrate irregularly


graph3

Source: IOM, Egyptian Unaccompanied Migrant Children, 2016.

Italian System for Protecting Children

According to the Italian Legislative Framework, a child is the responsibility of the Italian government if he or she is for any reason within the territory of the State and does not have assistance or representation from parents or other legally responsible adults.

UMCs cannot be expelled and are entitled to the following rights: 1) Residence Permit, 2) Accommodation in a Safe Place, 3) Guardianship, 4) Non-Discrimination, 5) Healthcare, 6) Education and 7) Specific Protection Measures.

  • Once detained in Italian territory, UMCs have to be referred to relevant child protection services and placed in accommodation facilities (primary reception – 60 / max. 90 days). Social Services officials take the following steps:
    1. Meet and interview the child and collect data such as name, age, country of origin;
    2. Notify the Juvenile Court of the child’s presence (to proceed with the appointment of the child’s legal guardian);
    3. Initiate, upon coordination with Police Headquarters and the child’s legal guardian, procedures for the issuance of a residence permit;
    4. Initiate the child’s identification procedures.
  • During the second stage, UMCs should be accommodated within the Protection System for Asylum Seekers and Refugees (SPRAR) system. This is when relevant authorities create a sustainable, long-term life plan to help the child transition to living in Italy. In order to promote UMCs integration, specific economic resources are allocated to be invested in their education and job insertion.
  • The provision of permanent residence permits when the child turns 18 years old is based on one of the two below options:
    1. Upon provision of evidence attesting that the child has successfully completed the integration path including three years of residence in Italy and completion of the two-year social integration program.
    2. Upon positive feedback/authorization issued by the Ministry of Labor and Social Policy (MoLSP) for those who have not completed the two-year social integration program and have not resided in Italy for at least three years.

Dangers and Risks of Illegal Migration:

The risks and dangers of illegal migration are the same for both adults and children including the difficult journey from their country of origin. The negative impact on children, however, is often more severe since they are inherently vulnerable.

Risks in Italy: Research On The Illegal Migration Of Unaccompanied Children In Egyptian Society

Once they arrive, UMCs from Egypt are targets for exploitation for a number of reasons listed below, especially if they escape the migrant centers.

  • Often these children do not know their rights or how they are protected under Italian law. The only information available to them is provided by their fellow countrymen. Often they will have to pay adults to accompany them to social services appointments, police stations or court. They may also need to do so in order to get an appointed guardian. Sometimes youth can choose a guardian that will exploit them.
  • Unaccompanied migrant children are also at particular risk of exploitation due to the cost of the migratory journey. This means they may be exploited in poor or inhumane working conditions to pay back their smugglers or sponsors.
  • They could also be pressed into other human trafficking activities including prostitution, drug dealing, indentured servitude/slavery or the involuntary removal of organs.

 

Research On The Illegal Migration Of Unaccompanied Children In Egyptian Society

NCCPIM&TIP has cooperated with the National Center for Social and Criminal Research to prepare an integrated study on the phenomenon of illegal migration of unaccompanied children in Egyptian society, especially in light of the current developments and the challenges facing the MENA region.

In this context, the study sought to achieve the following objectives:

  1. Identify the dimensions of the phenomenon of illegal migration of the UMCs in Egypt.
  2. Classify the economic/social conditions and the basic services provided in the villages of high percentage of illegal migration of UMCs.
  3. Identify the causes of illegal migration of children.
  4. Propose and recommend solutions to combat and prevent the illegal migration of the UMCs.

 

You can download the Arabic version of the study from this link, the English version is not available.